Newly elected Oyster Bay Sewer District Commissioner James T. Whelan was proudly sworn in as the newest member of the board, of which he will serve as treasurer. Acting New York State Supreme Court Justice John M. Galasso presided over the ceremony, which was held in early January.

After being appointed by the Town Board of Oyster Bay in May of 2005 to serve the remainder of the term vacated by James P. Murphy, Jr., who retired. Mr. Whelan was elected this past December.

"We are happy to have Mr. Whelan as part of our team," pointed out Oyster Bay Sewer District Commissioner and Chairman Thomas D. Galasso. "His engineering background, combined with his rich 100-year family history and strong commitment to Oyster Bay, make him duly qualified for the position and an asset to the board."